I just felt like run-ning.

May 22, 2012

In the past I’ve strictly stuck to elliptical machines for my cardio work outs.  They work for me and are easy on the joints however since I’m in this for the long haul, I try and mix it up sometimes.  I began on a treadmill, running in intervals week by week earlier this year. Eventually I got to a point where I could run an entire mile.  This was a huge accomplishment for this lady because I faked injuries more than once as a child in an attempt to get out of running the mile in gym class. Once I got over my assumption that running outside in nature would be HARDER than on a treadmill (I had it backwards completely backwards) I’ve been trucking it along for a few weeks now.

I used to say I wasn’t built for running.  That is a bunch a crap.

Yesterday I was up at 6am and did two miles.  then after work I was at the gym for an hour.  This morning I ran two more.

I feel like the simple fact that I never thought I could run without stopping for two miles is what keeps me coming back for more. Every day when I get out there and do it, I’m doing something I thought I never could and if I can do this one hard thing, there is no reason I can’t do so many others.

Forrest Gump was so right, sometimes you just feel like running.

Stats and measurements still to come! 

Leave a Reply

