Numbers.

July 24, 2012

There is a reason I do not own a scale.

I used to weigh in once a week at the gym.  Until another regular told me the scale is very unreliable/inconsistent.

My at work weight loss challenge is monitored by co-worker’s scale she volunteered we all use.  Once a week for the past 8 weeks I have weighed in.  And it has stressed me out more than it should.  Every. Week.

I obsess over numbers.  The weight never comes off as fast as I think it should.  A gain of absolutely anything unhinges me.  I forget about all the positive benefits of my 6 times a week exercise: way more energy, better overall mood, inches lost and muscles I have never seen defined are suddenly visible.  I just feel so much better in general on days where I have “sweated it out.”

But I haven’t lost enough weight.  That’s all I can think.

Carrying it around is getting heavy.

Friday is the final weigh in at work.  I am not getting my hopes up, I just hope to move the scale a bit down once again.  Last week I lost 3 pounds (after a two week gain of 4.2).  Hopefully the end of the Weight Loss Challenge will take some of the pressure off of my journey.  I feel like people thought I would do better because I have been at this for an entire 7 months now.

I’m not doing this for them, or anyone but myself.  I am not doing this for numbers on a scale, that is just a side effect.

Leave a Reply

